For Immediate Release:
March 26, 2015

Ken Yamaguchi, MD, MBA, is new treasurer of the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons


LAS VEGAS—St. Louis orthopaedic surgeon Ken Yamaguchi, MD, MBA, became treasurer of the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons (AAOS) Board of Directors today at the organization’s annual meeting.


The treasurer chairs, and is one of three voting members, of the AAOS Finance Committee, which is responsible for the finances of the Academy, which has 38,000 members.


Dr. Yamaguchi is the Sam and Marilyn Fox Distinguished Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery and Vice Chair for Quality and Research in the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery at Washington University in St. Louis. His research program, focused on the natural history of rotator cuff disorders and clinical outcome of rotator cuff treatment, has received several National Institutes of Health (NIH) research grants as well as recognition with the AAOS Ann Donor Vaughn Kappa Delta Award.


Dr. Yamaguchi received his MD from George Washington University where he also completed an orthopaedic residency. He completed a fellowship in shoulder and elbow surgery at Columbia University in New York, and an executive MBA at Washington University Olin School of Business. He has completed additional executive training in cost accounting, finance, leadership, marketing and health policy at Olin, Northwestern University Kellogg School of Management, and the University of Chicago Booth School of Business.


Dr. Yamaguchi previously served on the AAOS Board of Directors and the Council of Research and Quality.


# # #


Read more about Dr. Yamaguchi


About AAOS


Follow us on and


Orthopaedic surgeons restore mobility, reduce pain and provide value; they help people get back to work and to independent, productive lives. Visit to read successful orthopaedic stories.


For more information on bone and joint health, visit


Print   Download Print-friendly PDF

Facebook Twitter Share Email

For inquiries on this release, contact :

Kayee Ip
P: 847-384-4035 • M: 312-543-3211  •  
Kelly King
P: 847-384-4033 • M: 217-377-9745 •

Click to view AAOS PR Contacts.

AAOS Presidential Line:

President – David Teuscher, MD

1st Vice President – Gerald R. Williams, Jr., MD

2nd Vice President – William J. Maloney III, MD

AAOS Board of Directors:

Treasurer – Ken Yamaguchi, MD, MBA

Member at Large – Howard R. Epps, MD

Member at Large – Daniel C. Farber, MD

Chair of the BOC – David J. Mansfield

Chair of the BOS – David Alexander Halsey, MD

Lay Member – Ken Sowards

Programs, Events and Other Announcements:

New Editor-in-Chief of AAOS Now - Eeric Truumees, MD

Orthopaedic Surgeons On Top of the World, Building a Playground for the Palabra Viva Community

Orthopaedic surgeons address the risks of distracted walking in 2015 public service announcement

  Multimedia Gallery

Click here to view and download images and videos
from our multimedia gallery.
Ortho Stats

Ortho Stats & Facts

Click here to find
data to supplement
your news.

Join Us
  Facebook Twitter YouTube Google+