For Immediate Release:
March 26, 2015

Howard R. Epps, MD, elected to the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons Board


LAS VEGAS—Houston orthopaedic surgeon Howard R. Epps, MD, was elected to the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons (AAOS) Board of Directors at its 2015 Annual Meeting.


Dr. Epps is assistant chief of orthopaedic surgery and medical director for pediatric orthopaedics and scoliosis at Texas Children’s Hospital in Houston. He also serves as secretary of the Pediatric Orthopaedic Society of North America (POSNA), and first president-elect of the Texas Orthopaedic Association. He was an AAOS Leadership Fellow in 2002 and has served on the AAOS Patient Safety Committee, the editorial board of AAOS Now, and the AAOS Board of Specialty Societies Health Policy Committee.


Dr. Epps received a bachelor’s degree from Harvard University and a medical degree from Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine. He completed an internship in general surgery at Massachusetts General Hospital, his residency at the Harvard Combined Orthopaedic Surgery Residency Program, and a fellowship in pediatric orthopaedic surgery at the Hospital for Sick Children in Toronto, Canada.


Dr. Epps is married and has two sons.




More about Dr. Epps


About AAOS

Follow us on and


Orthopaedic surgeons restore mobility, reduce pain and provide value; they help people get back to work and to independent, productive lives. Visit to read successful orthopaedic stories.


For more information on bone and joint health, visit


Print   Download Print-friendly PDF

Facebook Twitter Share Email

For inquiries on this release, contact :

Kayee Ip
P: 847-384-4035 • M: 312-543-3211  •  
Kelly King
P: 847-384-4033 • M: 217-377-9745 •

Click to view AAOS PR Contacts.

AAOS Presidential Line:

President – David Teuscher, MD

1st Vice President – Gerald R. Williams, Jr., MD

2nd Vice President – William J. Maloney III, MD

AAOS Board of Directors:

Treasurer – Ken Yamaguchi, MD, MBA

Member at Large – Howard R. Epps, MD

Member at Large – Daniel C. Farber, MD

Chair of the BOC – David J. Mansfield

Chair of the BOS – David Alexander Halsey, MD

Lay Member – Ken Sowards

Programs, Events and Other Announcements:

New Editor-in-Chief of AAOS Now - Eeric Truumees, MD

Orthopaedic Surgeons On Top of the World, Building a Playground for the Palabra Viva Community

Orthopaedic surgeons address the risks of distracted walking in 2015 public service announcement

  Multimedia Gallery

Click here to view and download images and videos
from our multimedia gallery.
Ortho Stats

Ortho Stats & Facts

Click here to find
data to supplement
your news.

Join Us
  Facebook Twitter YouTube Google+